Friday, June 25, 2010
Breakfast - 9:00 a.m.
Call to Order – 9:30 a.m.

Minnesota CLE Conference Center


I.       Annual Meeting of the Minnesota State Bar Foundation
The members of the Assembly will convene as members of the Minnesota State Bar Foundation for the Foundation’s annual meeting to elect directors and transact other business that comes before the Foundation.

A.    Annual Report – J.P. Barone, Chair
1. Election of Board Members.  The three-year terms of the following directors expire on June 30, 2010: Ed Blomme, Erin O'Toole-Tomczik, Jill LeBow Prohofsky, Alan Ruvelson, and Pat Trask.    Ms. O’Toole-Tomczik, Ms. Prohofsky, Mr. Ruvelson, and Ms. Trask are eligible and interested in serving an additional term.  Mr. Blomme is not interested in serving an additional term.  The Elections/Appointments Committee recommends the following candidates:

    1. John Bultena, Ramsey County
    2. Erin O’Toole-Tomczik, Sherburne County
    3. Jill LeBow Prohofsky, Hennepin County
    4. Alan Ruvelson, Ramsey County
    5. Pat Trask, Crow Wing County


II.      Memorials:     Remembrance of MSBA Members who have died during the past year

III.     Awards and Special Recognitions
        A.    Presentation of President’s Award*
        B.    Professional Excellence Award (Presented at Day 9)
        C.    Recognition of Outgoing Assembly Members

IV.    Roll Call - Check in at the registration desk.

V.     Treasurer’s Report

VI.    Executive Director’s Report

VII.    Consent Calendar
Bylaw Article 4.9.3 -- Consent agenda. Recommendations by committees of the Assembly shall be placed on the consent agenda of the Assembly. Items on the consent agenda shall be enacted in one motion approved by the Assembly. There will not be separate discussion of items on the consent agenda unless a representative so requests. If any representative requests separate discussion, then the item will be removed from the consent agenda and considered by the Assembly as a separate agenda matter.
A.    Election of Brent Routman as President-elect (nominated by HCBA); Robert Enger as Treasurer; and Phil Duran as Secretary (recommended by the Elections/Appointments Committee)

B.    Approval of minutes of the April 29, 2010 meeting

C.    Action to approve the Recommendations of the President-Elect regarding 2010-11 committees

D.    Action on the Recommendation of the President-Elect regarding the 2010-11 Assembly meeting schedule



Friday, September 17 w/ Bar Leader Conference


Friday, December 10

12:00 noon

Thursday, April 28

12:00 noon

Friday, June 24

9:00 a.m.

E.    Action on the Recommendation of the Governance Committee regarding amendments to the Bylaws of the General Practice Solo Small Firm Section

VIII.   Additional Agenda Items
A.    Action on a motion to authorize consideration of items on this agenda that were not included in the original notice and purpose of the Assembly meeting (requires a 75% vote) {Any additional agenda Items will be marked with an asterisk.}

IX.    Elections/Appointments Committee – Judge George Perez, Chair
A.    Report on Committee Work

B.    Action on the Recommendation that the Assembly elect Thaddeus Lightfoot, Jessie Nicholson, and Michael Unger as Assembly Representatives to the Council

X.     General Policy Committee – Mary Ward, Chair
A.    Report on Committee Work

B.    Action on the Recommendation regarding the Report from the Human Rights Committee to urge the U.S. government to take steps towards ratification of the Rome Statute and the International Criminal Court -- ABA and other Bar Association Positions

C.    Action on the Report from the Diversity Committee to support a pending ABA resolution calling for “state, territorial, and tribal governments to eliminate all of their legal barriers to civil marriage between two persons of the same sex.”

D.    Action on the Recommendations and Report from the Diversity Planning Task Force regarding Policy #6

E.    Action on the Recommendation regarding the  Report from the Insurance for Members Committee to support adding Personal Accident Insurance to the MSBA’s insurance offerings

F.    Action on the Recommendation regarding MSBA Bylaws related to membership -- Background Memo

XI.    Governance Committee – Fred Finch, Chair
Report on Committee Work

B. Action on the Recommendation that MSBA Bylaw Section 4.1, the Guidelines of the Election/Appointment Committee Article 2.3.1, and MCLE Bylaw Section 9.9.2 be amended

XII.    Legislative Committee – Susan Holden, Chair
A. Report on Committee Work
B. Report on Legislative Session – Lloyd Grooms and Bryan Lake, Legislative Representatives

XIII.   Operations Committee – Brent Routman, Chair
A. Report on Committee Work

XIV.  Action on the Resolution of Members regarding Professor Peter Erlinder*

XV.   Announcements
A.    Notice of nominations and elections to the following boards.  (The election of nominees will take place at the September meeting of the Assembly.  Members of the Assembly should encourage any qualified MSBA member who is interested in being nominated to submit a Qualifications & Interest Statement to the MSBA office before August 20, 2010.)

    1. Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board — The terms of Richard Kyle, Jr., Ramsey County, and Michael Unger, Hennepin County, expire on January 31, 2011.  Mr. Kyle and Mr. Unger have each served one term and are eligible to serve an additional term. 
    2. State Board of Legal Certification – The term of Richard Diamond, Hennepin County, expires on January 1, 2011.  Mr. Diamond has served two terms and is not eligible to serve an additional term.

XVI.  President’s Report

XVII. Adjournment