Introduction Assembly   Council Officers Positions & Policies

Meetings and Minutes


Nominations to Outside Boards


Friday, December 13, 2013
12:00 Lunch -- 12:30 Call to Order

Minnesota CLE Conference Center


I.       Roll Call -- Check in at registration desk.

II.      Presentations

  • Senator Ron Latz
  • Elmer Wiblishauser Award
  • Citizen Lawyer Award

III.     President’s Report

IV.    Treasurer’s Report

V.     Executive Director’s Report

VI.    Consent Calendar
Bylaw Article 4.9.3. -- Consent agenda. Recommendations by committees of the Assembly shall be placed on the consent agenda of the Assembly. Items on the consent agenda shall be enacted in one motion approved by the Assembly. There will not be separate discussion of items on the consent agenda unless a representative so requests. If any representative requests separate discussion, then the item will be removed from the consent agenda and considered by the Assembly as a separate agenda matter.
A. Approval of minutes of the September 20, 2013 meeting

VII.   Additional Agenda Items
A.    Action on a motion to authorize consideration of items on this agenda that were not included in the original notice and purpose of the Assembly meeting (requires a 75% vote) {New agenda Items will be marked with an asterisk.}

VIII.  General Policy Committee – Eric Larson, Chair
A.    Report on the work of the Committee

B.    Action on the recommendation for Assembly approval of the Legal Assistance to the Disadvantaged (LAD) Committee’s resolution that the Minnesota State Bar Association re-adopt the American Bar Association (ABA) “Principles of a State System for Legal Aid”

IX.    Governance Committee – Sonia Miller-VanOort, Chair
A. Report on the work of the Committee

B. Action on the Committee recommendation to amend the MSBA Bylaws

X.     Legislative Committee – Chris Morris, Chair
A. Report of the Legislative Committee

B. Action on the recommendation of the Committee regarding LawPac and the Legislative Agenda  (Legislative proposals are available online at: )

XI.    New Business

A. Action on the Resolution of the Business Law Section

XII.   Announcements
A.    Notice of nominations/appointments to the following boards:
(Election of nominees will take place at the April 25, 2014 meeting of the Assembly.  Members should encourage any Association member who is interested in being nominated to submit a Qualifications and Interest Statement to the MSBA office by Friday, March 14.)
1.     Client Security Board -- The term of Dana Banwer, Hennepin County, expires June 30, 2014.  Ms. Banwer has served one term and is eligible to serve an additional term.

2.     State Board of Continuing Legal Education – The terms of Cameron Seybolt, Hennepin County, and Daniel R. Kelly, Hennepin County, expire June 30, 2014.  Mr. Seybolt and Mr. Kelly have served two terms and are not eligible to serve additional terms.

.     Legal Services Advisory Committee -- The terms of Diane Dube, Hennepin County, and Penelope Phillips, Hennepin County, expire July 1, 2014.  Ms. Dube and Ms. Phillips have served two terms and are not eligible to serve additional terms.

4.     Central Minnesota Legal Services – The terms of Carol Klaphake and Patrick O’Donnell expire April 30, 2014.  Ms, Klaphake and Mr. O’Donnell are eligible to serve additional terms. 

5.     MSBA/ABA Delegates – The terms of John Dornik, Patrick Kelly, Juan Hoyos, and Brent Routman expire at the end of the ABA meeting in August.  Mr. Kelly and Mr. Hoyos are eligible to serve additional terms.  Mr. Dornik and Mr. Routman have served three terms and are not eligible to serve additional terms.

B.    Future Meetings
1. Friday, April 25, 2014 (noon)
2. Wednesday, June 25, 2014 (10:00 am)

XIII.  Adjournment