Minnesota State Bar Association



The Council serves as the board of directors of the Minnesota State Bar Association. In that role, the Council implements the policies of the Assembly and oversees management of the MSBA.  

The Council is comprised of 15 members and determined as follows:

4 MSBA Officers (President, President-Elect, Treasurer and Secretary)
2 representatives of the Hennepin County Bar Association
1 representative of the Ramsey County Bar Association
1 representative form the outstate affiliated bar asosications
3 representatives from the Assembly
1 representative from the New Lawyers Section
1 representative from Minnesota Women Lawyers
2 representatives form the minority bar associations

The agenda for Council meetings is set by the President. Any items that should be considered by the agenda should be submitted to the MSBA staff at least three weeks prior to the Council meeting.


2013-14 Council Members

Phil Duran, President
Richard Kyle, Jr., President-Elect
Michael Unger, Treasurer
Robin W. Wolpert, Secretary
Charles Clippert, RCBA Representative
Dyan Ebert, Outstate Representative
Anne Johnson, Minnesota Women Lawyers Representative
Irene Kao, Minority Bar Representative
Eric Larson, Assembly Representative
Thad Lightfoot, Assembly Representative
Margie Meier, New Lawyers Section Chair
Christopher Morris, HCBA Representative
Jessie Nicholson, Assembly Representative
Reid Raymond, Minority Bar Representative
Judge Edward Wahl, HCBA Representative

David Graven Public Service Award The MSBA is seeking nominations for the 2013 Graven Public Service Award. This award will recognize the lawyer who best exemplifies the high standards of the profession in combination with a commitment to public or community service. Nominations are due on Friday, February 28. Complete details are available on the here. Contact Joni Fenner with questions.









MLS Info

  Minnesota State Bar Association
600 Nicollet Mall, #380, Minneapolis, MN 55402
(612) 333-1183 | (800) 882- 6722