Description: cid:image001.png@01CC88CE.57560F00

Public Law Section E-News

Spring 2012 | Volume XX | Issue 2




Public Law Section Annual Meeting & CLE
Join your colleagues for the Public Law Section's annual meeting, awards presentation and CLE program on Friday, May 18, 2012. This year's event features a CLE program entitled, "Veterans and The Legal System: Addressing the Realities of Military to Civilian Life" (3.0 hours of Elimination of Bias CLE credit applied for). Register now...

2012 Public Law Section Award Recipients
Join us for the Section's award presentation on May 18, 2012.

  • Douglas Amdahl Public Attorney Career Achievement Award
    John M. LeFevre, Jr. | Kennedy & Graven Chartered
    Judith L. Rehak | Minnesota Supreme Court
    Richard S. Slowes | Minnesota Supreme Court

  • Julius Gernes Prosecutor Award of Excellence
    Eric L. Leonard | Ramsey County Attorney’s Office

  • Public Attorney Award of Excellence: Government Agency
    Gregory J. Wiley | Sherburne County Sheriff’s Office

  • William E. McGee Public Defender Award of Excellence
    Connie S. Iversen
    Patrick G. Valentini | Cianni Law Office PLLC

  • Rosalie E. Wahl Judicial Award of Excellence
    The Honorable Kathleen R. Gearin | Second Judicial District

The New PLS Executive Council Members
Kim Buechel Mesun

Click here to learn more about the 2011-12 PLS Executive Council members pictured below.

2011-12 PLS Executive Council (left to rt.) Seated: Corrine Heine, Margaret Westin, Hon. Diane Alshouse, Juan Hoyos.  Standing: Barry Greller, Jerry Hendrickson, Dana Banwer, Mary Miller, Inta Sellars.  Missing: Jim Alexander, Lynn Belgea, Hon. Todd Schoffelman

Long-time PLS Executive Council Members
Kim Buechel Mesun

Longtime PLS Members
(Left to rt.) Greg Brooker, Kim Buechel Mesun, Nancy McLean and Hon. Tom Kalitowski

The Public Law Section is now in its 20th year.  You can see by reading the article about the current Executive Council that there have been some Council members who have served on the Council for many years, as well as recent recruits.  The end of the 2010-11 year saw the departure from the PLS Executive Council of four members, Nancy McLean, Greg Brooker, Hon. Tom Kalitowski, and Kim Buechel Mesun, who were on the Executive Council for a combined total of 56 years, more if you count their time as committee chairs. Read more...

The Public Law Section Celebrates its 20th Year
Kim Buechel Mesun

In 1990, the Hon. John Tunheim (then Chief Deputy of the Minnesota Attorney General’s Office) and Nancy McLean with the Hennepin County Attorney’s Office were asked by the MSBA to form a Task Force to look at the underrepresentation of public lawyers in the MSBA.  The results of that task force led to the MSBA reduced dues category for public lawyers and to the creation of the Public Law Section in 1991.  The section is now in its 20th year. Read more... 

2012 City Attorneys’ Educational Conference
Corrine Heine

The Minnesota City Attorneys' Educational Conference reportedly set an attendance record on February 10-11, 2012.  The annual event was held at the Sofitel Hotel in Bloomington, MN.  More than 170 attorneys registered for the conference.  Post-conference comments indicated the conference organizers had chosen topics of high relevance to government attorneys and speakers of high quality. Read more...

Legislative Update
Michele Timmons

As of the deadline for this article, April 12, 2012, the Office of the Revisor of Statutes has presented 52 acts for action by  Governor Dayton on behalf of the Minnesota Legislature.  Of those, 41 have been signed, and 11 have been vetoed.  In addition, the Minnesota Legislature has passed one proposed constitutional amendment, which the governor has no power to veto.  This article highlights 2012 Minnesota Laws that have been enacted and are of interest to attorneys who practice in the public sector. Read more...

What’s New with the ABA Government Lawyers Division?
Greg Brooker

This article provides an update on the ABA Government Lawyers Division, including CLE information, resolutions, membership and much more! Read more...

Public Lawyers on the Move
Keep up with your colleagues. Track who's coming and who's going. Read more...

News from the Bench
Follow the latest news from the bench.

In the Fall 2011 edition of the PLS Newsletter the following picture was included:

VLN Picture

The people in the picture were mistakenly identified as being from the Fourth Judicial District Self-Help Center Team.  The correct caption should have read (from right to left): Sue Pontinen (Executive Director of Volunteer Lawyers Network), Martha Delaney (VLN Deputy Director), Glen Drew (VLN Case Placement Coordinator), Heidi Huber (VLN Volunteer Liaison), Bill Dooley (VLN Case Placement Coordinator), Debra Swaden, and Christy Szitta (VLN Resource Attorney).  We apologize for the error.

Good Spring Recipe
Eileen Wells

Pineapple Cream Cheese bars are a sure hit at your next gathering. Read more...

Data Practices Opinions Index
Mary Miller

Click here to view the data practice opinions index.

Upcoming CLE Programs for Public Lawyers
Mary Miller

Click here to view a list of upcoming CLE programs of interest to public lawyers.

Thank You Kim Basting - Public Law Section Manager
A final thank you to Kim Basting, who has accepted a promotion at the MSBA and will serve as the new Mock Trial Manager beginning March 12, 2012. Kim served as our Section Manager for nine years, and anyone who has been involved with the council knows what an incredible job she has done for our Section. We will sincerely miss working with her, but we wish her all the best in her new position at the MSBA. Also, a warm welcome to Elyse Farnsworth, who will serve as our new Section Manager. We look forward to years of working together.

Upcoming Events
Public Law Section Annual Meeting
May 18, 2012
Registration | 8:00 a.m.
CLE | 8:30 a.m. - noon
Luncheon | 12:15 p.m.
Hamline University

Register now...

Issue Editor
Juan Hoyos

Juan Hoyos
Kim Buechel Mesun
Corrine Heine
Michele Timmons
Greg Brooker
Eileen Wells
Mary Miller




Find us
Minnesota State
Bar Association
600 Nicollet Mall
Suite 380
Minneapolis, MN 55402

Contact us
(612) 333-1183
(800) 882-6722

Follow us
Description: Description: Description: cid:image005.png@01CC88C8.08731BE0Description: Description: Description: cid:image006.png@01CC88C8.08731BE0Description: Description: Description: cid:image007.png@01CC88C8.08731BE0

You are receiving this email newsletter as a member of the MSBA Public Law Section.